ABOUT

00101_iTlmDwsIWYl_600x450.jpg
119690772_10101758026592812_672528577080

My name is Jen and I am a 40-year-old with Spinal Muscular Atrophy. My disability only affects me physically and I use a power wheelchair full-time (except for when I am sleeping!)

I have very limited strength and physical disabilities, so I require the assistance of others for anything and everything throughout the day. Think of every really little thing you do for yourself in a given day and I likely need direct or indirect help with it. With that said, I have a very independent spirit and enjoy the little independence I do have.

I have worked since I was 16-years-old and working to provide for myself and be an active member of society is very important to me. I have two college degrees. One is a B.A. in Journalism from St. Thomas, where I was a member of Gamma Sigma Sigma and the PRSSA (Public Relations Student Society of America). The second is an A.A.S. in Health information Technology from M State and after graduating I received my Registered Health information Technician certification.

I currently work from home in the area of Infectious Disease and Epidemiology. I have a long history of working as a consultant in the areas of public relations, social media, writing and editing, and disability services. I also am a motivational speaker.

I have two small dogs who think everyone is here to love on them. My oldest is a 12-year-old female Yorkie and she is my emotional support animal. My other is a 1-year-old female Morkie and she is in training to be my emotional support animal.

While I thrive on routine and order, I'm pretty easy-going. I can be girlie when it comes to hair, make-up and fashion... you do not need to be an expert as I can teach you!

I enjoy living life to my fullest. I generally like to keep busy, but I also really enjoy downtime and lazy time. I enjoy music and concerts (country is my favorite genre, but I like a little bit of everything and the legendary Frankie Valli is my favorite), movies, cooking and checking out restaurants, traveling (I have been to 13 countries and hope to visit Italy one day), shopping, movies, improv and stand-up comedy shows, musicals and plays, hanging out at Starbucks, spending time outside in the summer, people-watching, exploring, finding new things to see and do, and binging shows (my favorites are "Grey's Anatomy," "The Resident,” “Superstore,” “Gossip Girl,” “New Girl," “Friends,” “The Office,” "Schitt's Creek," Mom," and "Parks & Rec.” I enjoy volunteering and volunteer with a summer camp each year.